top of page





















The Championship comprises the following events:


Quaker Run, Evening Excursion, Sunset Run, Chairman’s Run, Baydale Run and Anniversary Run.

Points allocation:  Points are awarded to the top six finishers in each event as published in the results sheet.

   1st   12 points
   2nd  10
   3rd   8
   4th   6
   5th   4
   6th   2

In the event of a tie the Champion will be decided by the rider scoring in most events, then most wins.

Originated by George and Barbara Robinson in 1977

Award: The Kart House Trophy.

Organisers: South Durham Section Committee

George W Robinson and the Kart House Trophy

George Robinson together with his wife Barbara (who he married in 1953) had a business in Darlington known as the Kart House.  It started in Bondgate selling Go Karts before moving to premises in North Road selling new and second hand motorcycles until their retirement.

They were active members of the Vintage Motorcycle Club, and were early members of the South Durham Section formed in 1975.  They inaugurated the Section’s Road Safety Run Championship in 1977 and donated the Kart House Trophy which is still awarded annually to the Champion.

George and Barbara competed regularly in local VMCC events as well as participating in those organised by other sections and major club events, a particular favourite being the Manx Rally.  They were often seen on a Rudge motorcycle and sidecar a 1907 Lincoln Elk (made in Lincoln) and wicker sidecar.  

George and the Rudge “featured” as an extra on the film Chariots of Fire.  He also rode a variety of machines including a Zenith and Matchless often in the company of his friend Nick Robson.  He was a member of the Club’s Management Committee and was riding motorcycles until shortly before his death in January 1987.  

He served in the RAF during the 2nd World War.  He started racing motorcycles and cars pre-war and continued this passion on the conclusion of hostilities until the early 50’s when he rode in the Manx Grand Prix.


2023 Winner - Brian Smith

Download full results

Past Winners

Section Championship
bottom of page